Macomb County Criminal Defense Attorney Our Company Criminal Defense Testimonials Case Results Contact Us
J. T. Bowden, Attorney at Law A Strong Defense Begins Immediately, not in the courtroom.
Facing Criminal Prosecution? Contact Us Today! Hire an attorney who will go the extra mile! Find out how to restore your drivers' license. Learn more information about OWI penalties.
Contact Us
Criminal Defense Practice Areas
Criminal Defense
FAQ
Assault
Domestic Violence
Drug Crimes
Expungements
Juvenile Crimes
OWI
Breath & Blood Tests
Felony OWI
OWI Defense Strategies
OWI Penalties
Underage OWI
What to Do After an OWI
Misdemeanors vs. Felonies
Probation Violation
Sex Crimes
Theft Crimes
Violent Crimes
White Collar Crimes
Proudly Serving
Visit our Blog
Payment Plans Available. Quick, Confidential & Free Consultations

Underage DUI/OWI Charges in Michigan

Macomb County OWI/DUI Attorney

Has your child been arrested for drunk driving in Macomb County, Michigan? In Michigan, the legal drinking age is 21 which means that anyone under 21 found possessing or consuming alcohol can be charged with OWI. In our state an alarming number of motor vehicle fatalities are caused by underage drinkers. That is why the prosecuting attorneys in Michigan are setting harsher and stricter penalties for suspected underage OWI offenders.

Searching for an attorney for an underage OWI in Macomb County? If your underage teenager has been arrested or accused of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, then you must retain an aggressive Macomb County OWI/DUI attorney to protect their rights against the prosecution. Contact J.T. Bowden, Attorney at Law today because a strong defense begins immediately.

What constitutes driving under the influence for minors?

In Michigan, underage drivers are held to a tough zero tolerance law. This means that if they are found with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .02% or higher, then they can be arrested for operating while intoxicated (OWI) Zero Tolerance Offense. For adult drivers the BAC limit is .08%. If your child was pulled over with a BAC level of .08% or higher, then they could be charged as an adult and face standard OWI penalties. If your child already has a Zero Tolerance offense as well as two standard OWI convictions then they could be facing felony charges.

Penalties for Underage Drinking and Driving in Michigan

Fortunately, there is no jail sentence associated with the first Zero Tolerance offense. However, if your child has a BAC of .08% and is tried as an adult, then they could face a possible jail sentence. The penalties for drunk driving in Michigan are as follows:

  • First drunk driving offense- If their BAC level was between .02%-.07% then they could be subject to 15 days of community service along with a fine of $250. If their BAC level is .08% or above, then they could face up to 93 days in jail, license suspension up to six months and fines anywhere between $100 and $500.
  • Second drunk driving offense (Within 7 Years)- If their BAC level is between .02%-.08% then they could be forced to serve 60 days of community service and asked to pay a fine up to $500. If their BAC level is above .08% then it can be viewed as a standard OWI charge which is punishable for up to a year in jail, a one year license suspension, mandatory alcohol treatment program, and a fine up to $1,000.

It is important to remember that receiving a criminal conviction before ever reaching adulthood can have a traumatic effect on your child's future. An OWI conviction could make it very difficult for them when it comes time for college admissions or impressing future employers. If your child has a criminal record, it could follow them for the rest of their life and haunt them every time someone runs a background check on their name. Be sure to prevent a criminal conviction with the help of a Macomb County OWI/DUI lawyer from my firm.

Protecting the Rights of Minors in Macomb County & Oakland County

Here at J.T. Bowden, Attorney at Law, I have extensive OWI/DUI defense experience. If your child or another loved one has been accused of drinking and driving, you must act fast in order to evade severe penalties. My firm can offer you high caliber defense that you can count on during this difficult time. I can fight to obtain alternative sentencing or to have the charges dismissed entirely. Contact a Macomb County OWI/DUI lawyer from my firm today to schedule a free initial consultation!

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
J.T. Bowden, Attorney at Law - Macomb County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Located at 126 South Main Street, Mt. Clemens, MI 48043.
Phone: (888) 871-9868.
Local: (586) 747-3271.
Website: .